jump to navigation

You were holding the blue book, I was holding the red book… September 30, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Misc, Webshite.
Tags: ,
trackback

Missed Connections

‘Missed Connections’ sections of newspapers and websites are often looked upon as pathetic and slightly creepy stories of strangers who perve on other strangers but forget to ask them their name, or, you know, any information that would identify them in any way.

The chances of actually finding your missed connection are slim-to-none. What are the odds that the publication you submit yours to will be read by the object of your unrequited affection? That is, unless, you’re lucky enough to have a missed connection with someone just as desperate and lonely as yourself.

The reason why I mention Missed Connections today is that someone, specifically Sophie Blackall, has given these lonely paragraphs of text (specifically those belonging to the Missed Connections section of craiglist in NY) an upgrade in the form of various paintings. And they’re also really good.

This

Monday, August 17, 2009
– m4w – (greenpoint)
asked myself why the letter ‘n’ all night long, then you were gone before i got a chance to ask. also, i saved you a piece of cake.
do you always sit in a circle of asian girls? and sit at the top of the stairs so everyone gets a crush on you when they get to the roof?

is transformed into this…

And this…

Tuesday, March 17, 2009
-w4m -22 (williamsburg)
i bought you that milkshake
you just didn’t realize it.

becomes this…

I think I might like these as much as Postsecret.

For more, check out Sophie Blackall’s Missed Connections blog.

[via Buzzfeed]

Comments»

1. Joey - September 30, 2009

I love these. I’m also jealous of that lovely blue quote box. You are far too au fait with the technologies for my liking, Mr. K.

2. Patrick - September 30, 2009

Well ya know while you all have a production of BASH I have a blue comment box. It’s only fair really.

3. Tnelson - October 1, 2009

Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

4. RobD - October 6, 2009

Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday. 🙂

5. Bill Bartmann - October 9, 2009

Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

6. PhillDoc - October 22, 2009

Cool story you got here. I’d like to read more about this matter.


Leave a Reply

